
// ALTERNATIVE
Sensor Tower alternative for indie developers
Sensor Tower sells customized plans to brands, publishers and investors. AppHitlist is a self-serve, iOS-only option for indie developers who need App Store market data.
// SUMMARY
Sensor Tower is an enterprise market-insights platform. According to its website, it covers the Apple App Store and Google Play, plus ads, web and game data, and prices every plan per customer. AppHitlist is a self-serve alternative for indie developers who only need the Apple App Store: daily chart history, estimated revenue, Meta ads and complaint themes, with a free account and one paid plan.
// CHOOSE Sensor Tower IF
- You need Google Play as well as the App Store. App Performance Insights covers both, according to its website.
- You need ad spend and impression estimates across social, display and CTV. Pathmatics is built for that.
- You want data delivered through an API, scheduled CSV or Parquet feeds, or Snowflake, or you want its MCP server.
- You buy for a brand, agency, publisher or investor and a sales-led annual contract is normal for you.
- You need usage metrics such as sessions, time spent and retention, which AppHitlist does not show.
// CHOOSE APPHITLIST IF
- You build or plan iOS apps and the Apple App Store is the only store you care about.
- You want to sign up yourself, start on a free account and pay for one plan without talking to sales.
- You research ideas: filter apps by genre, release date, ads and rating, and use the “new but winning” filter for apps released in the last six months.
- You want complaint themes from 1- and 2-star reviews and Meta ad creatives on the same page as the revenue estimate.
// COMPARISON
Sensor Tower and AppHitlist, side by side
| Feature | Sensor Tower | AppHitlist |
|---|---|---|
| Stores covered | App Performance Insights: Apple App Store and Google Play. Separate products cover ads, web and PC or console games. | Apple App Store (iOS) only. No Google Play. |
| Pricing | Customized plans per customer. No public plan names or dollar prices on its pricing page in October 2026. | A free account and one paid plan with everything, monthly or yearly. Cancel from the account page. |
| Free access | Its FAQ says you can sign up for free and that full access is on paid plans. Free-tier limits and trial length are not stated. | Free account with limited access: app profile, rating, price and rank history. |
| Download and revenue estimates | Estimated downloads, revenue, RPD and active users from a consumer panel, store APIs and models. Its FAQ calls them directional. | Estimates from our own algorithm over Apple’s public chart lists, updated daily. They can be wrong. |
| Ads | App Advertising Insights: competitor ad budgets, share of voice, ad networks and a Creative Gallery. Pathmatics adds spend and impression estimates. | Meta ad creatives per app, sorted by days live. Not a spend tracker. |
| Reviews | Ratings, reviews, review sentiment over time and terms found in reviews. Its site does not describe automatic 1- and 2-star complaint themes. | 1- and 2-star App Store reviews grouped into complaint themes, plus feature requests. |
| Keywords | Keyword rankings and Apple Search Ads impact analysis on the App Store and Google Play. | Keyword popularity and difficulty. Daily rank tracking for your own apps in App Store search. |
| Alerts and data delivery | Custom alerts by email or Slack through Connect, plus an API, data feeds and Snowflake. | Email alerts when a followed app’s rank, ads or revenue estimate change, daily or weekly digest. |
| Built for | Brands, agencies, gaming publishers, investors and app teams, according to its website. | Indie developers and small studios. |
Contract versus self-serve
According to its pricing page, Sensor Tower customizes plans for each customer and shows no plan names or dollar prices. The App Performance Insights FAQ says price depends on access level, markets covered and features, and a 2024 press release says insights are sold as an annual subscription. You talk to sales before you see a number.
AppHitlist works the other way round. You open a free account, then move to one paid plan that includes everything, billed monthly or yearly. Prices change, so this page does not quote them; check the current plan when you sign up.
What the data covers
Sensor Tower says its data starts from a global first-party consumer panel plus app store APIs, combined with models and third-party datasets. Estimates cover downloads, revenue, active users, sessions and retention. Its FAQ describes them as useful for directional analysis, benchmarking and market sizing.
AppHitlist is narrower. Its revenue and download estimates come from our own algorithm over the chart lists Apple publishes, updated daily, for iOS only. It does not show usage figures such as sessions or retention. Treat the numbers as a direction, not an exact figure.
When to stay with Sensor Tower
Stay if you need Google Play, ad spend, web traffic, game data or an API feed. Those are outside what AppHitlist does, and no indie plan changes that.
Sensor Tower also says it acquired data.ai (formerly App Annie) in 2024 and unified the core data in 2025. If you arrived here from a data.ai login, the data.ai alternative page explains what its site shows today.
Information about Sensor Tower comes from its public website (sensortower.com), checked October 2026. Features and prices change, so check Sensor Tower for current details.
// FAQ
Questions people ask
How much does Sensor Tower cost?
Sensor Tower does not publish prices. Its pricing page says it customizes plans for each customer, and its FAQ says price varies with access level, markets and features. As of October 2026 there is no public price list, so you need to contact sales for a quote.
Does Sensor Tower have a free plan?
Its App Performance Insights FAQ says you can sign up for free and that full access is available through paid plans. It does not state the limits of the free account or a trial length, so check the signup flow. AppHitlist also has a free account with limited access.
What is a cheaper alternative to Sensor Tower for indie developers?
Sensor Tower does not publish prices, so a number-to-number comparison is not possible. AppHitlist is a self-serve option for the Apple App Store only, with a free account and one paid plan. It does not cover Google Play, ad spend or usage metrics.
Does AppHitlist cover Google Play like Sensor Tower?
No. AppHitlist covers the Apple App Store only. Sensor Tower’s App Performance Insights covers the App Store and Google Play, according to its website. If you publish on Android, you need a tool that covers Google Play, and Sensor Tower is one of them.
// RELATED
Try it in AppHitlist
// READ NEXT
Other comparisons
// START
See the data for yourself
A free account shows app profiles, ratings, prices and rank history. Revenue estimates, ads and complaint themes are on the paid plan.
Sign up free